That kid

My child was “that kid ” today who sent a nasty message to his friend, his good friend. And I was the Mother that received a text message from the parent with a picture of his message. I wish I could say I am completely surprised but I am not. Sometime you wonder how two children that you raise in the same family in pretty much the same way can be so different. My son has had a potty mouth pretty much since he could talk. I have tried lots of things to rid him of this but nothing has worked. Of course, now that he is 11, the “potty mouth” is developing way beyond the potty. I am sad and disappointed for him because this will now be the second family that he has become ” that kid” too. He is impulsive but very intelligent. He doesn’t have any learning disabilities. I’ve investigated. He even saw a psychologist last year and that helped a lot. Her opinion was he really, really liked to have his own way and that is true, I know. At times, I have tried every parenting and teacher strategy I know but he has a very good way of completely shutting me out. That has been improving, he is more willing to talk and he has made gains. But for some reasons he thinks he is the “cool” kid or that is the road he is planning to take. But I have news for him. I will fight him every step of the way because all that spells is trouble. I will do whatever it takes. But I second guess myself a little bit because I don’t want to push to hard. Worse then being “that kid” would be  “that teen” doing drugs and alcohol. I  hope I am just overreacting.

But I am really sad for him because right now he is “that kid” but he has put himself there. Sure, it makes me wonder what they are thinking about me but I really don’t care that much because they have no idea how hard I am working. Not to mention I have heard a few stories about what goes on in their homes. So all his electronics are gone indefinitely. I am not sure he will ever be ready for social media during his teen years. I am not sure he will ever get his iPad back or a phone later down the road. I am not sure he will ever be leaving the house. Okay, that is overreacting.

Everyone deserve a second chance but he has a lot of work to do. I am deleting his Skype and Instagram accounts. When and if he earns his iPad back he will only have access to message and as he proves himself can earn the other accounts back.     If any positives are to come out of this maybe he will tap into his creative talents since his face won’t be stuck in an iPad.

4 thoughts on “That kid

  1. Thanks for posting this!! I also have an 11 year old, expressive, high energy, stubborn, low impulse control and impatient- and he has been since birth!! And potty mouth. & Beyond has been our struggle here- he has two younger bros.
    he’s also been that kid, and it was not fun for anyone , so thank you for being brave and real, it helps to know someone else has highly intelligent smarty mouth:).
    Here’s to a gooooodddd Christmas for you and yours – my guy tends to get overexcited and amped up with lots of stimulation- soooo not a relaxing christmas 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

