Christmas Week

It has been a busy couple days around here but oh so fun as we celebrate the season.

The boys designed and created their own gingerbread houses on the 24th.  Last year,I stopped buying the pre-made kits and started making the gingerbread from scratch. The youngest son found a pattern online and the oldest son designed his own this year. I use the Gingerbread recipe from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe Gingerbread sleds and her burnt sugar recipe to hold the houses together.  Last year, I really gave myself a good burn on the hand with the burnt sugar so I was nervous using it this year  and I don’t think I kept it hot enough this time round. I will have to invest in some heat gloves for next year. Here are the links to Mel’s.

http://www.melskitchencafe.com/gingerbread-sleds/

http://www.melskitchencafe.com/gingerbread-houses/

IMG_5070

drawing to scale

IMG_5076

cutting out the pieces

IMG_5072

IMG_5082

assembly and decorate

IMG_5083

clash of clans castle

clash of clans castle

Leave a Reply

