Potato and Corn Chowder

IMG_5255

Cooking is not something that I love to do. I can cook but most times I leave it up to my husband. Here is where I am going to get brutally honest. Besides the fact that I am very tired by the time I get home from work if I didn’t leave the cooking for my husband to do he would do very little of the domestic chores around here.  After 19 years of marriage I have accepted that but if he likes to cook and wants to cook then I am not complaining. Except I am. Sorry Honey! He is great on the BBQ and super if he follows a recipe but he can’t just pull meals together, healthy meals more specifically.   Tonight I was motivated to cook and tonight called for some hearty comfort food that was warm and soothing to the body and soul.  I don’t have a specific recipe for this but I am sure you could find one with a quick google search.

Chop and sauté one large onion and a few cloves of garlic in butter ( yes 100% real, use a much or as little as you like)

IMG_5251

Add one container of vegetable broth ( I used unsalted so I can add my own)

IMG_5252

Cut up some potatoes into cubes. I used 4-5 large cause I like lots.  I also kept the peels on, more nutrients in the skins, they were yellow potatoes with a soft skin.

Add about 1-2 cups of milk and some flour (1tbsp or so)  and let the potatoes start cooking.

Add some bacon -I used the pre-cooked strips that they make for cooking in the microwave. Since they are already cooked I just chop em up and toss them in the pot.

IMG_5253

When the potatoes are nearly done I add salt, pepper and a can ( drained) of corn and about 3/4 cup of light cream. Let simmer for another 10 mins and serve. I add lots of pepper to my serving. This was definitely the comfort I needed this evening.

IMG_5255

Leave a Reply

