Skincare L de L Retinol Advanced Brighting Mask

Ret_ABMask_XL

I enjoy taking stock of beauty and cosmetic products found at places such as Marshals. They will often have a section of further discounted products in addition to the reduced retails. It is usually a potpourri of products and you really never know what you are going to find. There have been some hits and some misses.

This product caught my eye because of the listed ingredient Alpha Hydroxy Acid and it was $7.00 reduced from $20.00. Since I have never tired an Alpha Hydroxy Acid I thought this fit nicely into my price range should it end up tossed in the garbage.

The product itself is a milky coloured light gel that goes on your face clear. I have fairly sensitive skin so I am always nervous trying out any new mask. The instructions say leave on between 5-10 minutes. I did notice some burning on my face after about 2 minutes of the product being on my face, so I opted for 5 mins.  I then washed it off gently with a warm facecloth. I have tried the mask two more times. Each time I do feel burning with the product on and afterwards my cheeks (most sensitive) forehead and chin are red. The redness can last up to an hour.  I put on a face cream about 5 minutes after I take the mask off and that seems to help with the redness and is soothing. At this point, I am still not certain how to take this product and I need to do some research.

The website claims the products are safe for even the most sensitive skin.

Alpha Hydroxy acids work by removing the top layer of dead skin cells. It speeds up the skins natural shedding process to reveal smoother skin and ultimately that glow we all desire. They can cause mild skin irritation, redness, swelling, itching and skin discolouration. Concentrations less than 10% which are generally those that can be purchased over the counter are considered safe.

My face does feel very smooth after the treatment and applying moisturizer. I will continue with this product only using at night before bed so when I wake up the redness will be gone. I also would not use the product anymore then once a week. The directions say 1-2 times per week.

Most site I visited did say to use lots of SPF when using an alpha hydroxy acid as skin could be more prone to sun burn.

Leave a Reply

