Product Review NYX Finishing Sprays

IMG_5639

I don’t know what is it about the work I do but I never seem to get my makeup to last a full work day. I use primer and good foundation but I take a peek in the mirror half way through the day and my makeup seems pretty much gone. I have no time to reapply makeup at work. After spending a good 20 minutes on my make-up in the mornings I want it to last.

I recently picked up NYX finishing sprays in matte and dewy. Each bottle is 60 ml. Directions say to hold the bottle 8-10 inches from face and spray. The formula sprays out of the bottle well allowing for full coverage of your face. The drying time is fairly quick and does not run your mascara ( I have had that happen before). The matte does provide a matt finish and the dewy does give you a dewy finish. I was impressed that my skin actually looked dewy with that formula. However, the dewy effect did not last all day. I would say about 2 hours for me. As we know everyone’s skin is different and products perform differently for individuals.

The Verdict: I would say my make-up lasted slightly longer using the finishing spray for a normal 7 hour work day. I was expecting my foundation and blush to last longer but I could see some of the redness in my skin coming through mid-day when I checked in the mirror.  I did like both formulas in they finished as stated matte or dewy.

One evening, I went out for a dance and of course did my make-up and used the matte finishing spray. After four hours of dancing. I returned home and had a lot of make-up left on. I know this by how much time I spent removing it before bed.  This changed my perspective slightly about the products overall performance.

This leaves me to wonder if I am doing something at work that is causing my make-up to not last as long. Maybe I am touching and rubbing my face. Maybe I apply less make-up when I am getting ready for work and don’t realize how much less foundation and blush I use.

How do you get a full 7-8 hours out of your make-up? What finishing sprays have you had success with? Have you had the opportunity to try NYX finishing sprays?

12 thoughts on “Product Review NYX Finishing Sprays

  1. I have been wanting to try these finishing sprays. The only one that I have used is the Elf one and it does okay…I’m not sure how well it really works lol. Though these are on my wishlist. 🙂 xo

    Like

  2. Hi Jassy :). I’ve nominated you to the Liebster Award because I think you’re an awesome blogger and I really like your blog. Instructions on what to do are posted on my blog’s latest entry, but basically, you just need to answer a few questions, nominate more bloggers, and ask them new questions for them to answer. Pretty easy right? Let’s continue the chain and know a bit more about each other!

    -Hector

    http://geek-q.com

    Like

  3. The best finishing spray I have tried is Clarins Fix’ Make Up and if I’m really in a pinch, good old fashioned hairspray can work wonders ( just be careful you don’t get too close to your face) lol Great review! I was pleased to read that both products measured up 🙂 I think I would try the “dewy” spray, then I wouldn’t have to try so hard for the same effect.

    Like

Leave a Reply

