When am I going to grow up?….Hell, who am I kidding I don’t want to.

IMG_0019_2My birthday is tomorrow (oops I was just informed it is not tomorrow, its the next day ) chronologically if we are counting I am turning 41, oops I mean 42. Yes, I will be 42 and I have no intentions of acting my age any time soon. Honestly, it feels like my oldest who is 15 is catching up in age to me. He graduates middle school and goes to Jr. prom this year. I still have my Jr. prom dress in a closet around here somewhere. I am still with the boy I went to Jr. prom with.

Here are a few mottos: keep up with technology, keep with the latest music ( i am stoked for the Billboard Awards and seeing Britney and Iggy- I am so rooting for Britney!!!), keep up with what the young people are doing

( okay, so that last one is to keep tabs on my own teens).

I have to confess I am losing ground with the celebrity starlets and youth shows, the interest is just not there for me. Yeah, I am more mature then I think. Cat fights, fighting over boys and jealous over-privileged teens on TV are not entertaining to me.

Okay,  I have a few clothing limits too: short skirts, short shorts, midriff tops, crack exposing jeans and a few stores I won’t shop Garage, Hollister, Aeropostale, Victoria’s Secret PINK. I do however, love American Eagle and ROXY brand. Not giving those up.

I will be a a responsible parent and act my age in my profession and in some public places and events. But on my own time I will sing and dance to DEMI, wear leggings and knee socks, pink streak my hair, wear crazy make-up, sing karaoke on my computer, body surf the waves at the beach, buy an AE dress, snapchat ( I don’t but I could if I wanted), have a girlfriend sleepover, wear sparkles, and whatever else I feel like doing. Don’t put me in a box and tell me I have to act and be a certain way because of how old I am chronically.

Birthdays are not about the number ( although I am grateful for each year I have here on earth) they are a celebration of your life from the past year and going forward.

“Happy Birthday dear MOM… Happy Birthday to you.”

“Blow out your candles and make a wish”

I take a breath in, lean over my cake and wish for health and happiness for my family and me.

‘NOW LETS GET THIS PARTY STARTED QUICKLY”

11 thoughts on “When am I going to grow up?….Hell, who am I kidding I don’t want to.

Leave a Reply

