Summer Reflection Part One: Challenges, Strength, Courage

eb3c280249f1f9f208091fc5195639caWe don’t walk this world and live on planet earth with out each of us having a set of challenges and obstacles. I have learned over time that each persons perception of challenge is different and that we are on a continuum of personal growth.  For instance, one college student may feel that not getting a 90% on her final is pretty much the end of her life. While another college student just wants her boyfriend to stop beating her before he ends her life.

Life experiences

perceptions

personal growth

and life lessons. 

We will never understand in this life why one person’s challenges are so much greater than another. And we should never assume that someone’s public appearance is his/her inward reflection. It is timeless but true; never judge a book by its cover.

BUT

Where does the personal strength come from to overcome our challenges and get to the other side a little wiser, having learned something about ourselves?

There was a interesting conversation going on the other day in our staffroom about each person having a spirit animal. I thought it was so ridiculous I didn’t engage in the conversation at all. However, my co-workers where having a hoot researching each other’s spiritual animals.

This week I also happen to be watching Vevo and watched Katy Pery’s ROAR video. I have listened to this song many times before but this time her words reminded me about my personal strength and COURAGE is a word I have used often and people have used often about me to describe how I have taken on some challenges.

You held me down, but I got up (HEY!)
Already brushing off the dust
You hear my voice, you hear that sound
Like thunder gonna shake the ground
You held me down, but I got up (HEY!)
Get ready ’cause I’ve had enough
I see it all, I see it now

[Chorus:]
I got the eye of the tiger, a fighter, dancing through the fire
‘Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar
Louder, louder than a lion
‘Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar

When I am feeling strong and victorious I feel like a lion. Courage and strength has helped me over come some of my most difficult challenges.

500f85e2e68576016fd79c05b1bf0458

What is courage and How do you get it?

Courage is moving forward when everything tells you to run the other way.

Courage is picking yourself up again and again and again.

Courage is making a goal and planning the steps to achieve it.

Courage is facing your fears head on even when you are so very scared.

Courage is loving kindness to self at all times.

quotes-courage-and-lion-Favim.com-1058096

What is strength and How do you get it?

Strength is what gives you the power to be courageous.

Strength is knowing and understanding the alternative.

Strength is choosing the best option.

Strength is derived from those who depend on you.

Strength is self created. ( comes from the creator)

Strength rises from the soul, it is choosing and building your foundation on life, love and faith.

IMG_6009

What is courage to you? Where do you get your strength?

2 thoughts on “Summer Reflection Part One: Challenges, Strength, Courage

  1. Wonderful post, Jassy! It’s true. The most important thing is that we find a way to keep standing up to adversity, fear, and the tough stuff in life. It makes us stronger and in a way it cleanses the soul. :o)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

