Toss it out!…not so fast.

I am pretty good at keeping clutter to a minimum in my house except when it comes to make-up. I just can’t seem to toss it out. Maybe it is because I am very conscience about recycling and donating items and with make-up a lot is tossed in the garbage. Really, who wants a used lipgloss? ahh, noone!

But here are a few tips to keep somethings from the landfill…..

When I tire of shampoos,conditioners, body washes I put them in my kids bathroom and let them finish off the bottles and then I recycle the empty bottles. You could even offer them to a close friend.

I always toss bottles of nail polish and any unopened product in the good will bag.

Some makeup companies/counters will take items and recycle them for you.

Try to use up all the product.

Try and buy only what you need. ( I know, I know..make up hoarders anonymous..right with you)

Take off tops or break off parts that can be recycled. Collect all excess product in one container and take to pharmacy for disposal.

Support companies that are reducing packaging and using environmentally friendly and non-toxic products. Two of my favourite  retail companies right now are The Body Shop and LUSH.

As I change seasons in and around the house. Here is what I was able to part with from my make-up table. Some of these items will be donated, recycled and a few will end up in the garbage.

IMG_6483

2 thoughts on “Toss it out!…not so fast.

Leave a Reply

